Cognitive Principle Therapy became a branch of neuropsychology in 2020 when is was redesigned to incorporate the nervous [neuro] system into every aspect of the psychology of the human condition.

  • The 7 areas of psychology are the Spirit brain [knowing or intuition], the Energy system [information & energy], The Nervous system, The Gut brain [sensing], the Heart brain [emotions/feeling], The Head brain [cognition/thinking] and Behaviors resulting from the other six. CPT starts with the nervous system, based on Polyvagal theory.
  • CPT uses the 7 systems controlling the human condition. These are divided into two parts, the conscious [outside the diagram below] and sub-conscious [inside the diagram below]

  • In CPT the Conscious Mind is called the Task Positive Network [or System 2 or the "Left brain"], whereas the Sub-conscious Mind is called the Default Mode Network [ or System 1 or Right Brain]. These terms have been defined by various neuroscientists.
  • CPT is based on a Cognitive Principle Matrix which uses 7 groups of principles to classify the 7 areas of psychology.
  • CPT also uses 7 rules which relate the 7 areas of psychology.
  • The goal of CPT is to restore Balance, Alignment and Direction within the client as these are the three areas which cause dysfunction.















































We are moving from LEVEL 5 to LEVEL 6

The concept of teaching to get a job started at level 2 [Industrial revolution] and has continued for 150 years, but it is not longer relevant. Jobs are becoming obsolete or their nature is changing too quickly. We need to teach principles so that we understand the basics of language, mathematics, science and the arts, however, we don't need the detail to be taught.

We need to encourage creativity to apply principles, so that we can more easily adapt. This concept applies to the social sciences, we need to teach the principle that there is meaning in life, that is, in relationships [beliefs or in another person] and in work [paid or unpaid] and in suffering [Victor Frankl's-"Man's Search for Meaning"]

  • Meaning -Hope is at level 7
  • Relationships-Love is at level 5 &  6
  • Work -is at level 4 & 6
  • Suffering is at levels 1, 2 & 3.

The levels, however, are not separate, they are integrated and  supported by 7 Systems, 7 Rules & 7 groups of behaviors. Once a person understands the principles and the supporting systems, rules and behaviors they can be creative and solve their own relationship, work and personal suffering issues. This is what the Cognitive Principle Matrix teaches.

Cognitive Principle Matrix as shown below

The principles are grouped into seven groups each with its own level.

  • There are seven systems supporting the seven groups
  • There are seven rules applying to the seven groups.
  • At each of the seven levels there are seven individual principles
  • There are seven steps to pass through at each of the seven levels

The matrix is explained in simple terms, even though the matrix is complex.

You can achieve your goals a lot easier once you understand how your system works.